Hebburn Town were formed in 1912 but senior football has existed in the town since 1882 with the formation of the illustrious Hebburn Argyle. It is difficult to imagine crowds of four and five thousand attending Argyle’s derbies against Jarrow in the Hebburn Quay area. However, we must thank two of the town’s great philanthropists Sir Ralph Carr-Ellison and the French engineer Alphonse Reyrolle for laying the foundation for the current statium which is home to Hebburn Town. Alphonse Reyrolle in particular had the vision to recognise that the workforce of his fledgling company ‘Reyrolles’ needed a social and sporting outlet; he purchased the land from the Carr-Ellisons and created the stadium to house football, cricket, bowls and tennis. (The site’s history section provides details of the time line leading to the current team).

Hebburn Town now play in the Northern League. The league started in 1889 and is the second oldest league in the world after the Football League which precedes it by one year, although cup competiions were held in the early 1880s. The Northern League has a remarkable history which is comprehensively described in Brian Hunt’s book “Northern Goalfields Revisited”, with every fixture from the first three on Saturday 7 September 1889 documented. The league in the first season comprised the following teams; Darlington St Augustines (the champions), Newcastle West End, Stockton, Newcastle East End, Darloington, Middlesborough, South Bank Auckland Town, Birtley and Elswick Rangers. Games between these teams regularly attracted thousands of supporters. The facts and figures presented in Brian Hunts’s book provide a fascinating insight into the development of our national game and is a ‘must’ for any football supporter. One particular match is worthy of mention and involves the Amateur Cup Final between Crook Town and Bishop Auckland in 1954 with nearly 200,000 supporters at Wembley Stadium and the two replays at Newcastle and Middlesborough – an incredible statistic.

The Northern League now consistes of two divisions with geographic coverage across Durham, Northumberland, Cumbria, Teesside and North Yorkshire.

Hebburn’s tenure in the Northern League commenced on19 August 1989 when they beat Shotton Comrades 2-1 at Shotton’s ground. The the team that day was: J P McKenna, A Armstrong, L Jobling, K P Bradley, P A McIntyre, P D Hedley, L D Duff, G Dickinson, D M Lindsay, J Capewell, S P Harkus, Sub: W Jones.

The club has had mixed fortunes, spending a brief period in the Northern League Division 1 before being unfairly relegated for supposedly not meeting ground standards. Since then, the Chairman, Committee and Sponsors are dedicated to the task of ensuring that the town’s senior team continues in the Northern League, hopefully at the top level.

At the end of the 2011-12 season, promotion to the Northern League Division 1 was secured following a third place finish in the Northern League Division 2. This capped a remarkable season which also saw the club reach the final qualifying round of The FA Cup – the furthest the club has reached – where we were defeated 3-0 away against local neighbours Gateshead in front of a crowd of 1,198 at the International Stadium.

Two seasons in the top division came to an end in season 2013-14 when the club finished in second bottom position and were relegated back to division two.

The 2014-15 season got off to a promising start when the club won the pre-season Tyne & Wear Summer Cup for the first time by beating Seaham Red Star 3-2 in the final.

We are extremely grateful to our main sponsors, Premier Scaffolding for their generous support and to the businesses who sponsor perimeter board advertising. Individuals or businesses who would like to become benefactors should contact the club to discuss ways in which they can become involved in securing the long term future of the club and protect the legacy which can be traced back to Hebburn Argyle over 125 years ago.